mini movie reviews {#3}

I’m not going to be able to do a ‘what I’ve been reading/watching’ for these last three months – #life – so here’s some more mini movie reviews.  I’ll probably do one for books tomorrow or the day after.

The Santa Clause (1994) – Okay for a one-time watch, but not much more.  However, Tim Allen is awesome, both in this movie and in Real Life.

rehost_2016_9_13_15994bb3-cb03-4f6d-a97b-3e502ce95f67.jpg

Free Birds (2013) – I found Free Bird’s portrayal of the Pilgrims to be offensive and ignorant.  Besides the voice acting, there’s little to love in this movie.

The Scarlet Pimpernel (1982) – An old favorite.  Swoon over the music/costumes/romance/Sir Percy himself.  I love how the stories of The Scarlet Pimpernel and El Dorado are combined.

the-scarlet-pimpernel-5.jpg

From Time to Time (2009) – MAN.  This had such great potential!  But all those British actors were wasted on a boring plot.

Enchanted (2007) – The songs in here are brilliantly beautiful.  Plus, Robert.  Just…Robert.  Amy Adams is a sparkling presence, as usual, and the whole thing fits together like, well, how the glass slipper fit Cinderella’s foot.

enchanted.jpg

The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement (2004) – And speaking of princesses, this film was a delightful romp.  Not A+ quality entertainment, but plenty enjoyable nonetheless.

Rio Bravo (1959) – Dean Martin. ❤  That’s all.

Howard_Hawks'Rio_Bravo_trailer_(29).jpg

Dangerous Crossing (1953) – A typical film noir.  Sort of a ‘The Lady Vanishes’ plot; intriguing without being too predictable.

How the West Was Won (1962) – The best thing about HTWWW, besides all the familiar faces, is the whole Epic Family Saga.  Definitely one of my favorite genres (if it is a genre) and I thought it was done quite well here.

6a00e5500c8a2a8833016302efa20c970d-800wi.jpg

Tangled: Before Ever After (2017) – No, no, no, no, NO.  What have you done with my beloved characters?!

The LEGO Batman Movie (2017) – Um…wow.  This one really blew me away.  All the villains, for one.  And the FEELS.  Serious feels. (This is the only Batman movie I’ve watched, by the way.  EDIT: Besides his semi-major role in The LEGO Movie.)  Robin was nowhere near as bad as I thought he’d be.  And there was a Tom Cruise cameo (sort of) which made the whole thing even better.

LBM-Trailer.jpg

What movies have you been watching lately?

Eva

8 thoughts on “mini movie reviews {#3}

  1. It’s been a stressful couple of weeks . . . so I’ve been watching a ton of Pixar movies. Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc., Toy Story 3 (yes, AGAIN) . . . They make me feel so much better. Don’t know how they do it, but they do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been mainly watching Star Wars and the Thin Man series (1930-40’s movie mysteries with a detective couple who are super cute and hilarious together).

    I love the Scarlet Pimpernel and the combination of plots because El Dorado was far better. Of the ones I’ve read the ranking is thus 3) The Scarlet Pimpernel, 2) The Elusive Pimpernel, and 1) El Dorado. Of course I haven’t read them in ages, so I’m going by what I said then.

    Like

  3. Ah! I love Enchanted (Patrick Dempsy= swooning) , Rio Bravo (Dean Martin= even more swooning), and From Time to Time! Love your reviews!

    Like

    • Thanks!

      I just re-watched Rio Bravo with my grandfather and Dean Martin is so awesome in it! (Plus, he looks great scruffy AND cleaned-up, which most guys can’t pull off.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

