mini book reviews {#1}

As promised.  Maybe a little late, but still…two posts in almost two days is pretty good for me, I think. 🙂

_______________________________________

1 jMsb-hiMxYhTXDfSVdeOBw.jpeg

~Wonder by R.J. Palacio – I re-read this one is prep for the movie and I’ve gotta say…Wonder is one amazing book.  I read it in a day.  And I’m giving Owen Wilson a huge thumbs-up as Nate Pullman.  He’s pretty much perfectly cast.

~The Scarlet Pimpernel and The Elusive Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy – Sir Percy’s adventures never, ever, EVER get old.  I love everything about these books and most of the characters.

512+lG5FO2L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

~The Siren by Kiera Cass – Not sure if I like this better than the Selection series, but it’s different and swoonable and so atmospheric.  I’d probably read it again.

~The Divergent series by Veronica Roth – First book: LOVE.  Second book: Slightly boring and Four is more than a little out of character in the beginning.  Third book: What. Even.  Four: All the heart emoticons, Four-style (<4).

1947550_828047637222140_396140436_n.jpg

~Just Deserts by Eric Walters – According to my brother, almost every Eric Walters book is a copy of the last, but this one breaks the mold.  Genuinely moved me in a few places, and y’all know that I’m attracted to stories of huge jerks who become awesome human beings through a series of unfortunate events (#lightningmcqueenFORTHEWIN).

~Backlash by Sarah Darer Littman – Interesting, but ultimately a depressing look at how people cope (or don’t) with the trials of life when they don’t know Christ. *shudder*

~Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín – Movie was wayyyyyy better.

brooklyn-movie-image-saoirse-ronan.jpg

_______________________________________

What have you been reading lately?

Eva

4 thoughts on “mini book reviews {#1}

  1. I’ve been reading a ton lately (yay summer break!!!):

    – “The Lost Girl of Astor Street.” I was really surprised by this one!! It was awesome.
    – “Fireflies in December” by Jennifer Erin Valent. It was good, but I didn’t exactly love it.
    – “Ilyon Chronicles.” Incredibly engrossing series–inspiring, too. I think I rather like fantasy now 😉
    – “The Outsiders.” This was good, but not REALLY my thing . . . we’ve talked, I know 🙂
    – “The Scorpio Races” by Maggie Stiefvater. WOW WOW WOW. I can’t believe how beautiful this story was. I am in love.
    – “Fangirl” by Rainbow Rowell. Epic and life-changing. The end.

    I’m currently reading “All the Light We Cannot See.” It’s really, really sad–in fact, I think it might even with the “Sadder Than The Book Thief Award”–but also really gorgeous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

