my favorite Canadian things

Because #Canada150.

// Maple Syrup //

Funny thing: I used to hate maple syrup.  But now I love it.  I guess it’s the Canadian coming out in me.

// Literature //

There’s Lucy Maud Montgomery.  Duh.  Her books are the BEST.  But there’s also Eric Wilson, who wrote killer (no pun intended) mysteries for young teens that just about anyone can enjoy.  And Eric Walters bears mentioning as well.  He writes in a bunch of different genres, with my personal favorite book of his being Just Deserts.  For adult readers, there’s Emma Donoghue, who wrote Room. (I haven’t read it myself, but I’ve heard very good things about it.)

// Snow //

Summer has made me realize all over again how much I love winter (and dislike summer).  And there’s nowhere better than Canada for lots and lots of snow.

// Actors & Actresses //

William Shatner, Michael J. Fox, Mary Pickford, Christopher Plummer, Ryan Gosling, Glenn Ford, Donald Sutherland, Hume Cronyn, Raymond Burr, Megan Follows, Will Arnett…and the list goes on.  Did any of those names surprise you?

// Milk //

Our milk comes in individual bags, people, and it’s AWESOME.

// TV Shows //

There’s so many great ones!  Flashpoint, Road to Avonlea, Murdoch Mysteries, Sue Thomas F.B. Eye, both Anne of Green Gables miniseries…and those are just a fraction of the Canadian shows available.  Truly amazing.

// Money //

We have plastic bills.  They are virtually unrippable.  Coolest money ever.

// Other Little Things I Love About Canada //

Our national anthem.  Fireworks on Victoria Day.  July 1st, 1867.  Inuksuk.  Our last Prime Minister, Stephan Harper.  Girlbert and Walter and Jem and Shirley Blythe are CANADIAN, people – therefore, all Canadian girls have more right to crush on them than anyone else (but don’t worry – we’re not selfish).  We invented basketball.  Huskies.  All the maple trees.  The American side of Niagara Falls is prettier than the Canadian side…but we Canadians get to gaze at the American side allllll we want.  We have $1 and $2 coins.  Our flag – it’s simple and beautiful and very recognizable.  The Stratford Festival.  OUR MILITARY.  Tim Hortons – because Timbits.  Beavertails.  The Toronto Zoo.

GO CANADA!!!

Eva

13 thoughts on “my favorite Canadian things

  1. Wait, CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER IS CANADIAN?!?!?!? XD That was the one that surprised me! This whole post was a delight from beginning to end, though. Bagged milk?! PLASTIC MONEY?! (Although *that* is a fantastic idea…) And I love maple syrup so much. I like it even better than honey and would rather pour it on my biscuits or toast than anything else–but it’s so expensive here! And unfortunately my dad’s bees don’t produce maple syrup, so I guess I’ll just have to keep rationing my maple syrup for those occasions when we have breakfast for supper 😉

    Like

  2. I love your header! It’s very simple and beautiful, like you said about the Canadian flag ❤

    Milk in bags? Huh. It looks a LITTLE weird to me, but I don't drink milk so I guess I have no real opinions either way.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Happy Canada Day!!! – Modestly Styled

Leave a Reply

