“I don’t feel anything emotionally except rage.”

batman-begins-batman-49436_1600_1200.jpg

My introduction to the Dark Knight was through The Lego Movie, where he is anything but dark (even though he only works in black…and sometimes very dark grey).  Emmet and Wyldstyle and Vitruvius took up almost all of my attention in that flick – Batman was good for a few laughs, but not much more.

Then, two things happened:

1) Adam West died, which (briefly) brought the attention of the entire internet, myself included, to Batman.

2) My brother bought The LEGO Batman Movie.

the-lego-batman-movie-robin-1.jpg

Because of the feels I felt while watching The LEGO Movie, I was kinda expecting/hoping that TLBM would move me emotionally, amidst all the jokes and sight gags, and it totally did.  Yes, it was one of the funniest movies I’ve ever watched (still makes me laugh out loud – literally), but there were also hints that, in a more serious movie, Batman would be really, really epic/heartbreaking.  And I’d wanted to watch the BatBale films for a while.

THEN my brother bought Batman Begins. (He buys everything these days.)  And I watched it.  And loved it.  And loved Batman. (He’s now my second favorite super-hero – after Captain America.)  Before Batman Begins, I’d only seen Christian Bale in Newsies and Little Women, and I really dug seeing him in such a dramatic role.  It’s not like I have a serious crush on him, or anything, but I was really impressed.

Batman-Begins-7.png

My siblings and I decided to skip The Dark Knight (at least for now) because the Joker is freaky.  Really freaky. 

I bought The Dark Knight Rises at Giant Tiger a couple days later.  And, well, I didn’t like it as much as Batman Begins because, y’know, Batman is hardly in it at all.  Neither is Bruce Wayne, for that matter.  Anne Hathaway was great, as usual, with her portrayal of Catwoman.  I’ve really enjoyed Anne Hathaway in everything I’ve seen her in, and TDKR continued that tradition.

4917375-5560386281-48187.png

Anyway, what this post is trying to say is that, while Batman may have his flaws (just like his movies), exploring this facet of the DC-verse has been amazing so far. (Also, I’ve discovered that I have a weird fascination with Scarecrow, but I absolutely promise that it’s nothing like my crush on Ben Wade.  I AM NOT CRUSHING ON HIM.)

Let’s fangirl in the comments!

Eva

20 thoughts on ““I don’t feel anything emotionally except rage.”

  1. My parents didn’t let us watch many movies, but sometimes they looked particularly askance at movies (when they were hyped in our circle, otherwise they wouldn’t have known or cared much about them). And Dark Knight was one of them. My siblings as teenagers wanted to see it, but Mom said no. Somehow, not too long later my brother ended up watching these Batman movies (how he got around that I do not know; he was 14 when it came out, and I’m not sure how much later it was when we watched it, I was technically an adult I know, you know, I think it should have been rated R because of the absolute sadism and psychopathy looking back in retrospect), and I came down while he was watching Dark Knight and was intrigued. He warned me of spots (I think I came down at a particularly awful scene). I’ve watched that one perhaps once or twice more maybe. And then I saw the first and later the last (in theaters the day or day after the shooting, so Mom was NOT thrilled AND decided to tell us about BEFORE we saw it and naturally that messed up my focus). I think the Dark Knight as a movie is the best one as a movie. But the Joker is sadistic and psychopathic. I’ve never been one for “realistic”/up close and personal violent movies, and I’m less brave/foolish in my “old” age, so I haven’t watched this in awhile. I’m not sure about justifying watching things like this much really. I don’t know. I always wonder where to draw lines and when am I being hypocritical, when am I numbing myself.

    Like

    • Parents definitely have a good handle on what is and isn’t good for us to watch/read (even though we might not always agree with them). I don’t have plans to watch The Dark Knight anytime soon, as I know the Joker is freeeeeaky. (Scarecrow was bad enough.) There definitely has to be a line drawn somewhere, but I think it’s different for every person.

      Like

  2. My favorite Batman movie is Batman Forever because it’s not too weighted down with ponderous importance (like the two Michael Keaton movies), but not silly (Batman and Robin is just silly). But most I love it for the cast (Val Kilmer! Nicole Kidman! Chris O’Donnell! Tommy Lee Jones!) and the nostalgia I have for the film. It came out when I was just starting to be interested in modern movies, and it was possibly the first movie I absolutely loved that my parents couldn’t stand at all. They didn’t say we couldn’t watch it, but they never would watch it with us, so my brother and I would watch it if they left us home for the afternoon or something. And we bought the computer game version and played it endlessly.

    Like

    • I think I’d like to see Batman Forever, especially because Val Kilmer is mentioned a TON of times in the TV show, Psych, and I’d really like to see him in a full-length movie. (However, Christian Bale will probably always be THE Batman, to me.) Is there any objectionable content in it?

      Like

      • Well, there’s a lot of cartoony violence. I do not remember any bad language, though it’s been several years since I watched it last. There IS some innuendo — Riddler reads Robin’s mind and says he dreams of “one day being bare-naked with a woman” (I personally like this bit, as it implies that Robin’s a virgin). Robin encounters a bunch of women who may or may not be hookers and chats them up, but leaves to rescue a girl in danger. And there’s this nighttime encounter between Batman and Dr. Meredian (Nicole Kidman) where we assume she’s got nothing but a sheet wrapped around her. She keeps her sheet on, he doesn’t make any moves on her, but they do trade some charged dialog, especially on her part. But everything remains innuendo — it’s never implied that anyone’s sleeping with anyone else.

        I think he guest-starred on an ep of Psych too, didn’t he?

        Like

      • Thanks for the low-down. 🙂 I think it’s something I’m going to wait on for a little bit.

        Yes, Val Kilmer is in the very last episode of Psych, but his appearance is less than a minute. So I haven’t really gotten to see him act in anything (unless you count voice-acting – I have seen The Prince of Egypt).

        Like

      • Val Kilmer has made many better movies than Batman Forever. Unfortunately, a lot of them are rated R. If you can get VidAngel streaming to work at some point, I love his neo-noir Thunderheart. My fave role of his is Doc Holliday in Tombstone, and that one wouldn’t be hard to clean up — a few words to mute, but it’s mostly R for violence and drug use (people addicted to laudenum). I love him in Willow too, but I know your family isn’t keen on stories involving magic — but he’s wonderful in that.

        Like

  3. Love the Batman movies, though they are dark, it sheds interesting light on understanding twisted minds, which I think can be good and bad.
    Anyways, I absoloutly adore Christian Bale (I’ve been in love with his portrayal of Laurie since I was very little) and he did not dissapoint. I’ve seen all three in this series, and although the Joker is very twisted, it is a good movie. But yeah, you have to be prepared for some sick/weird-ness.
    I’m not super fond of Anne Hathaway and she bothered me even more in this character, but I was dissapointed by other aspects of the movie too.
    I would say my favorite of the three is The Dark Knight. And Batman is just awesome, his brooding handsome wonderfulness.

    Like

  4. My brother loved–LOVED–Christian Bale’s Batman and the Dark Knight trilogy. I’ve not seen the movies (except for clips), and I’m not sure if I would personally enjoy them; but I definitely have a healthy respect for them as high-quality art.

    Like

    • You probably wouldn’t, ’cause there’s several scary scenes in Batman Begins (and The Dark Knight is probably full of them). They are incredible films, though.

      Like

  5. As a kid my mom thought that Batman was too violent for me, even the Batman Animated Series from the 90’s. Sometimes I wonder if that’s part of the reason I like comics and superhero movies so much now.

    If you can handle the Joker, you really should watch The Dark Knight. It’s easily the best of Christopher Nolan’s trilogy. And I agree, The Dark Knight Rises isn’t as good as Batman Begins. The plot’s a mess and like you said, Batman’s barely in it.

    Like

      • I’d sooner watch Batman And Robin than The Dark Knight Rises, because at least there you get Arnold Schwarzenegger’s ridiculous one-liners. It’s a terrible movie, but sometimes I’m in the mood for pure cheese.

        The way I’d put it is, Batman Begins is the best movie about Batman as a character, whereas The Dark Knight is the best movie with Batman in it. If that makes any sense.

        Like

Leave a Reply

