eight of my favorite westerns

Y’all know (or should) that westerns are my favorite genre, so this post was long overdue.

~The Magnificent Seven (1960) – Are you surprised?  My favorite movie, my favorite western, and it’s perfection in almost every way.  And the score is worth a listen or two, even if you’ve never watched the film.

~3:10 to Yuma (1957) – A tense, gripping western with a great cast and a great ending.  Love it!

~The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (1966) – Sitting through over three hours of three guys fighting over some treasure might not be everyone’s idea of epic, but it’s mine.  You’ve heard the theme song a million times…now it’s time to watch the movie that goes with it. #thatshowdownthough

~High Noon (1952) – Gary Cooper’s performance alone makes High Noon a film you need to see, whether you enjoy westerns or not.  Come to think of it, several of the movies on this list live up to the ‘great movies, not just great westerns’ thing.

~Rio Bravo (1959) – My newest favorite.  Dude is easily my favorite character, but almost all them are likable, in one way or another.  And the music!  The songs that Dude and Colorado (and Stumpy) sing, of course, but also that eerie Mexican tune that was played at the Alamo… *shivers*  I dig it.

~True Grit (2010) – Haven’t seen this one in a while because my family misplaced our DVD.  But Jeff Bridges is the BOSS.  Not to mention Hailee Steinfeld.  Overall, the film is a carefully crafted masterpiece from beginning to end, and I love the soundtrack so much that I now own the CD (very rare for me).

~Hidalgo (2004) -A western set (mostly) in Arabia.  It’s a unique concept and one that this film pulls off exceptionally well.  Hidalgo is a rich, vivid experience, with an addictive ‘Lawrence of Arabia’ feel to it.  “Let ‘er buck!”

~The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance (1962) -I’ve praised this movie before in my review, so I’ll leave you with a link.

Do you spot any favorite westerns on this list?  What are some of your favorite westerns?

Eva

15 thoughts on “eight of my favorite westerns

  1. Oooh! Awesome list. Magnificent Seven (1960) on my favourite list too. Yellow Sky would be just after Magnificent Seven for favourite western though. Oh, and Once Upon a Time in the West. Those would probably be my top 3.
    All the others you have listed rank high on my list too. I’m a huge western fan.

    Like

      • That’s a really good question. I don’t know, exactly, why I haven’t watched any others. I guess I just have never really seen/heard about any Western films that I really felt drawn to?

        Now that I think about it, I believe the Western genre just . . . doesn’t really have the right ingredients to appeal to me. For example, I don’t like lone hero stories (there’s nothing WRONG with them but they’re not my thing, except for To Tame A Land because I will always love that book). I don’t usually like stories with mostly male casts, although, again, there are a few notable exceptions (The Chosen, Rain Man, Stand By Me, etc.) And I don’t really have that much of an interest in frontier history.

        Like

  2. If you’re a huge western fan than you probably already know this, but The Good, The Bad and the Ugly is actually the third movie in a trilogy. And it’s the only one of the three I’ve seen.

    The only other movie on your list I’ve seen is Hidalgo. Hidalgo is based on Frank T. Hopkins’s stories about his legendary career as a horse racer, but none of his tales have ever been verified. Good movie though.

    Some of my favourites are Shanghai Noon (western meets Jackie Chan martial arts movie), Back to the Future 3 (kind of a western), Blazing Saddles (a western parody and satire on racism). I also enjoyed The Apple Dumpling Gang and Fievel Goes West as a kid. Haven’t seen Fievel since, and The Apple Dumpling Gang didn’t quite live up to my memory of it when i rewatched it a few years ago.

    In other words, I need to see more pure western movies.

    Like

    • Yep, I knew that. I’ve seen two of the three – A Fistful of Dollars being the other one – but I think The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly will always be my favorite of the trilogy (if/when I see the second one).

      Fievel Goes West was a childhood classic for me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

