in other news…

AKA a random mash-up of Life Stuff, movies, some fangirling, etc.

03970a005bd27894ffc495caa3a0911c.jpg

-Prayers for my family (especially my parents) would be greatly appreciated.  We need all the prayer support you can give.  Thank you.

-Also, please sign the Charlie Gard petition.  Please.

-This blog is eight followers away from hitting two hundred.  You guys are awesome, and like I said before, I’ll be hosting a giveaway once we reach that goal.  And you won’t want to miss the giveaway, because it’s rather amazing.

audrey-1953.png

-I’m currently working on a 3:10 to Yuma fanfiction.  It’s going quite well.  Sometimes I put more effort into researching for fanfics than for my original writing because I don’t want to be called out by the entire online community.  Anyway, all that research has been interesting – and now I really, really want to tour Yuma Territorial Prison.

-Recently watched Moana and Pocahontas, so Brave and Princess and the Frog are the only Disney princess movies I haven’t seen yet.  Moana was gorgeous and Pocahontas was okay (but I did dig the fact that Christian Bale voiced Thomas – one of the few Not Annoying characters in the film).

-My grandparents got back from a vacation just yesterday; they’ve been celebrating their fiftieth wedding anniversary. ❤  Grandparents are great.  Just sayin’.

original_jane-austen-classic-book-poster.jpg

-A friend of mine sent me some Bible verses through Facebook chat and I wanted to share them here because they spoke to me: But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.” (I Corinthians 15:57-58)

-My older siblings and I have been watching BBC’s Sherlock (on VidAngel), and the last episode we watched was ‘A Scandal in Belgravia’.  I have a crush on, y’know, almost half the characters.  But especially John. (Especially John.)  And it’s so fun to see all the Famous Quotes in their proper context, for once.

-I want to watch Dunkirk so much.  So. Much.

screen-shot-2017-03-29-at-7-06-42-pm

-I plan to go for my driver’s license as soon as possible, which is weird, because I used to loathe the idea of going through all the tests and such.  But after seeing how useful it is to know how to drive, I’m totally on board with the idea.

That’s it for now.  Hope you’re all having a marvelous week! 🙂

Eva

14 thoughts on “in other news…

  1. Hello Eva. 🙂

    I recently followed you and thought I should introduce myself. 😉 Actually it’s about time I commented – I HAVE been reading your blog for a long time. (Maybe a year at least? I can’t remember.) I’m from a large family too, and I’m home schooled and rather like your taste in stories. ;D I haven’t read all of them, because I’m from Australia and many American, European and Canadian stories don’t make their ways to the little old libraries out near where I live.

    I always love these kinds of posts, too. 🙂
    I hope your family is alright! I’ll pray for you.

    I haven’t seen Moana or Pocahontas yet!! I want to. 😀

    I looove Sherlock! (And John!!! ❤ Although I do love Sherlock as well. And oddly enough Lestrade… and I even half enjoy watching Moriarty. :P)

    I saw Dunkirk last week!! I don't want to say too much – don't want to spoil it! – but it was very good. Quite sobering, but very well put together (I love Inception and Batman so I expected it to be good) (also I find it funny that Cilian Murphy and Tom Hardy are in it AS WELL)! And Harry Styles was surprisingly not as AWFUL as I thought he'd be. 😛 (He played a rather bratty character, so maybe that helped. *ahem*) It was very clever. Very clever. *nods head*

    Also, YES LEARN TO DRIVE!!! I'm sixteen and on my learners and while it's terrifying it's amazing and exciting at the same time, and oh, how much more independence (and responsibility :/ ) will come once I can drive by myself!! 😀 You won't regret it, believe me (and I've even had a hard time of it, learning wise).

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Miss Meg! It’s always lots of fun to meet other, like-minded bloggers. 🙂 And, based on your comment, you and I seem like quite the kindred spirits.

      My dad has cancer, which is (obviously) why I asked for prayer. It’s hard, but God is seeing us through.

      Lestrade and John and Sherlock… ❤ And Moriarty is too much. 😉

      Cilian Murphy and Tom Hardy being in Dunkirk are a big reason for my interest in it (mostly Cilian, actually), but mostly it's because WWII HISTORY THAT I HAVEN'T EXPLORED YET. Plus, I know it will make me cry, and I usually love movies that do that.

      I have to study for my first test on the road to getting my full license – not really looking forward to that, but whatever. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve been praying for your family at church–I will definitely keep that up. Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do. ❤

    Your fanfiction sounds amazing.

    MOANA IS GORGEOUS. YES. I'm so glad you got to see it!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. I’ll try to remember to pray for your parents. Don’t know what’s going on with them, but that’s not really necessary.

    I enjoyed Moana when I watched it a couple months back (not long before I started my Disney blog series), and I’m looking forward to seeing it again.

    Pocahontas was actually the first Disney movie I ever saw in theaters. Like you said, it’s … ok.

    Also I didn’t get my G1 (learner’s license in Ontario) until I after turned 17. I just didn’t feel like driving all that much when I was 16. it didn’t take long for me to learn how useful it is.

    In case you’re curious, I just reached Tangled in my blog series. I’m splitting it into two posts – one today and one tomorrow. As the 50th animated feature in Disney’s canon and the one with quite possibly the most complicated backstory in the history of animated film making, it kind of needed two posts.

    Like

    • Well, I’ve mentioned this before on my blog, but my dad has cancer, so that’s why I’m requesting prayer (my mom naturally takes a lot of the burden of caring for him + the emotional stress on herself, so that’s why I said ‘parents’ and not just my dad).

      I wanted to tell you that even though I hardly ever comment on your posts, I’ve really enjoyed your Disney Movies series. (I’ve read almost every post.) Even if I don’t always agree with your assessments of different films (for instance, Meet the Robinsons is one of my absolute favorite animated movies ever), they’re always fun to read. So thank you for that. 🙂

      I’m eighteen now and I had no interest in learning how to drive when I was sixteen. (My brother, however, leaped at the chance.)

      Like

      • Cancer is rough. I’ve known both cancer survivors and people who have lost people to it. I hope your dad can survive it.

        I can understand why people like Meet The Robinsons, and it’s certainly better than the two movies before it. It at least does a fantastic job at telling its perseverance message. I just didn’t like it all that much myself.

        Like

      • It’s been difficult, definitely. We couldn’t have made it this far without God’s grace.

        I watch Meet the Robinsons every New Year’s Eve, because the sense of optimism and hope that pervades the film is always a great, positive way to ring in the new year. 🙂

        Like

    • Thanks so much for the link! I remember reading and enjoying your blog earlier, so I’m excited to check out this post. 🙂 I haven’t seen Dunkirk yet (I have to wait until it comes out on DVD + until we get a filter for the language *sigh*) but I love reading reviews of it and such…and I’m definitely going to be rooting hard for it come Oscar-time. 🙂

      Like

  4. That is a good scripture! It’s good to be reminded of those things. Also, that’s so cool that you’re watching Sherlock! Is this your first time around? I love that series. If it’s your first time, I just want to say, be careful who you get attached to!
    Great post!
    -Amaris

    Like

Leave a Reply

