the four fictional characters tag

Hamlette tagged me with this tag ages ago and I’ve been stewing about the characters I’d choose, because they’re supposed to be fictional characters that you relate to and I don’t often think in those terms.  I hate, love, crush on, cry for, and cheer on fictional characters, but I don’t relate to all that many (hence, how long it’s taken me to get around to writing this).

Rules: (’cause every tag’s got to have some)

1. Link back to the person who tagged you. 
2. List four fictional characters (use pictures if you want! They can be from movies or books) and, if you like, describe what they’re like and why you believe they relate to you. 
3. Tag a few other blog people! Three, or four, or even twenty. 🙂 Share the fun! Be sure to let them know you’ve tagged them!

Untitled.png

1. Darrel Shaynne Curtis (‘Darry’) from The Outsiders (book by S.E. Hinton and 1983 movie)

The first time I read The Outsiders, Darry was my favorite character.  I never believed Ponyboy when he complained about how awful Darry was and the first time I cried while reading the book was when Darry and Ponyboy reconciled at the hospital.  Like Darry, I’m the oldest sibling, and that comes with a lot of responsibility.  There are times when I can’t just do whatever I want to do because my younger siblings take up my time and attention.  I identify strongly with Darry for several reasons, but Oldest Sibling-ness is the biggest.

2. Felicity King from the Road to Avonlea TV series

Another oldest sibling.  But besides that, I find that Felicity’s character (and character growth) throughout the RtA series mirrors my own life, to some extent.  Like, how she was so, so bossy in the first couple of seasons (she’s bossy for most of the show, actually, but in the first two or three seasons, it’s really bad) and my family will all tell you that I was super bossy when I was younger (and, like Felicity, I still am, but hopefully not as much as I was).  Now, admittedly, I wouldn’t have done some of the things she did (refuse Gus Pike more than once?!), but I see lots of similarities between Felicity and me – some good, some bad.  Overall, she’s a great character and I’m happy to be compared to her.

3. Eeyore from the Winnie the Pooh short stories/movies

Just…yes.  Totally, one hundred percent yes.

4. John Watson from BBC’s Sherlock

My siblings and I only recently started watching Sherlock (on VidAngel), but I’m already firmly convinced that John is my fictional counterpart.  We’re both bloggers, for a start.  There’s been more than a few times where I’ve felt like an idiot in comparison with the brilliant genius of my younger sister (she’s honestly smarter than me, people), but I don’t let it bother me for more than minute because we’re bffs.  And then there’s the whole thing with everyone believing Sherlock kidnapped those children in ‘The Riechenbach Fall’…except John.  You can ask my sister – I have this thing about innocent people who are wrongly accused (THE FUGITIVE); it gets under my skin, and NOT in a good way, and if I were in John’s place, I’d stick by Sherlock and never believe that he was guilty because he isn’t (sorry, but I just watched the ep last night and I feel very strongly about this).  I was so proud of John for never giving in to all the lies (I *cough* more than half expected him to eventually, because that’s the way books and and movies and TV shows have conditioned me).  Plus, neither of us take sugar in our coffee.

So, there you have it.  Four fictional characters that remind me of me.  And I’m going to tag…

Ashley of inklingspress
Naomi of Wonderland Creek
Jessica Prescott (to do in the comments?)

Only participate if you want to! 🙂

Eva

9 thoughts on “the four fictional characters tag

  1. I love that you picked a Pooh character. My sister (the same that had an UP Wedding) we’ve ALWAYS said was Eeyore. She’s been gifted two sets of Eeyore pajamas. That same sister also liked John, wonder if you have similar personality types. I’m Rabbit. My brother is Tigger. Those three are the strongest matches and still ring true. Particularly my siblings. Another sister was Piglet (I’m not sure it fits anymore). We had too many to match though.

    Like

  2. You tagged me!! *hugs you* I’m absolutely going to do this ❤

    Four fictional characters I relate to:

    – Danny Saunders, in "The Chosen" by Chaim Potok. This is a new one (I only read the book 3 weeks or so ago), but I relate to the guy SO HARD. He's basically a male version of me. I mean; he loves studying–check. He loves reading–check. He has a burning need to make his world make sense–check. He's super sensitive and hates being wrong–check. He's irresistibly drawn to suffering, and sorrow, and the invisible wounds people carry with them through life–CHECK. It's been a long, long time since a fictional character spoke to me on such a deep level, honestly; and I love it.

    – Cath Avery, in "Fangirl" by Rainbow Rowell. Okay, so if Danny is the male version of me, then Cath is the actual female version of me . . . for different reasons. But just as important. She's SHY and anxious and hates going to new places and trying new things. And she's got really low self-esteem, too. But inside, she's bursting with all this amazing creativity–she lives inside her head, basically, because it's the best and brightest place she knows. She's also very definite about her likes and dislikes (*Jessica raises hand with a sigh*); and she does a lot of "kid stuff" even though other people laugh at her for it, because she finds it soothing and comforting. I can relate to all of that, very much.

    – Tom Dolan, in "Bert Breen's Barn" by Walter D. Edmonds. Tom is one of those characters I never exactly SAW myself in, because when I was a kid I never thought about relating to male characters; but all his decisions make complete sense to me, and I can slip so effortlessly into his point of view–it feels RIGHT, if you know what I mean. He's quiet, and reserved, and he thinks about the future a lot: he has very specific goals for his life and he doesn't really mind how much work it takes to reach them, as long as he gets there someday. I relate to that, because I also have concrete, specific goals that I can see very clearly in my mind–even though fulfillment of those goals is probably many years off. I don't mind looking way ahead. In fact, I rather like it.

    – Jessica Prescott, in "A Distant Trumpet" by Paul Horgan. How could I not include her? She's partly the person I WANT to be and am not yet; but there are also parts of her character that I relate to pretty strongly . . . she's very empathetic, and she's also got a natural "motherly" streak which means she likes to talk through her friends' problems with them and try to give them advice. She's definitely more assertive than I am, and more self-confident; those are both things I don't have, but want to imitate.

    Thanks for tagging me, Eva! It was such fun! 🙂

    Like

      • You’d love all of them, I think. Well, except MAYBE “The Chosen”–that one’s much more difficult to predict. But I am absolutely positive you’d adore “A Distant Trumpet,” at least. It’s your sort of story, 100%. It’s even a Western!!!! (*shocked gasps that Jessica enjoyed a Western* 😉 )

        Like

      • Swearing, and graphic violence (Native American fighting), and some sexual content, but it’s not super explicit. I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody under 18, but I personally feel okay recommending it to 18 and up. It’s like a modern PG-13 movie, essentially; tending towards the “edgier” end of PG-13. I don’t know how it would compare to your personal standards for what you read/watch, because that’s such a very individual thing . . . I know I made Rosie wait till she was 18 to read it though 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

