mini movie reviews {#4}

And one for books coming (hopefully) tomorrow!

04e1b49d131a16e9702c7e50b2c79c88--vintage-retro-vintage-humor.jpgNewsies (1992) – My obsession of 2014’s summer months (this and the Broadway musical).  The songs are still, and always will be, amazing.  Plus, baby Christian Bale.

The Patriot (2000) – Gory and violent, but beautiful as well, and I was hardly ever bored for its almost-three-hour run which is pretty incredible.  I still don’t like Mel Gibson, though.

0520935_21286MC_Tx360

This guy, however…

Rogue One (2016) – My heart is smashed.

An American Tail (1986) – While ‘Fievel Goes West’ was watched wayyyy more than ‘An American Tail’ during my childhood, this movie still brought back plenty of good memories.

anamericantailhanukkah.jpg

Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003) – Ever since I watched and loved A&E’s Horatio Hornblower series I’ve been a little obsessed with that period of British history, so M&C was a natural extension of that.  An excellent film.

Texas (1941) – Super young Glenn Ford and William Holden?  YES.  A thoroughly entertaining ‘B’ western.

4672462f41676b850bf6a6757ecb06d6--old-hollywood-film-stills.jpg

A Royal Night Out (2015) – Gorgeous clothes, lots of Glenn Miller, and not a whole lot going on besides that.  Still, it was amusing.

The Four Feathers (2002) – This movie depresses me to death, but I still love it.  Heath Ledger and Wes Bentley and Kate Hudson all turn in these absolutely gut-wrenching performances.  It’s one of those stories that settled really deeply into my heart and soul forever.

MV5BMTU3NDUwMDgwMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODM1OTIyMDI@._V1_SY500_CR0,0,754,500_AL_.jpg

The Secret of Convict Lake (1951) – One of the better westerns I’ve seen.  Several good female characters, which is a bit unusual for a western.  Glenn Ford and Gene Tierney both gave great performances.

The Inheritance (1997) – This is another #childhood movie and it’s super obscure (but awesome) so if any of you have ever watched it, I’d love to know.  It’s a bit similar to ‘Little Women’ (1994), not least of all because both movies are based on books written by Louisa May Alcott, so I might do a comparison post sometime.

inheritance-header.jpg

The Searchers (1956) – Deeply sobering.  A truly great western.

Moana (2016) – I’ve seen this three times now, I think, and I like it a lot better now than I did when I first watched it.  The songs are good and/or catchy for the most part, and Maui is a LOT of fun.  Actually, the whole movie is.

moana-mv-12.jpg

Have you watched any of these movies?  What films have you seen lately?

Eva

17 thoughts on “mini movie reviews {#4}

  1. Tangled spoiled me for most newer Disney animated movies (as Cinderella did for live action fairytales). I liked some parts of Moana and Frozen and Princess and the Frog (I watched that after Tangled), but not the whole movies, they felt liking.

    I LOVE the Inheritance. I’d been interesting to see your comparison with Little Women. Do you mean the books or the movies. I cannot stand to finish the Little Women movie, and even the book sometimes. I’m looking forward to the new Masterpiece movie.

    Like

    • I just watched ‘Cinderella’ last night – I LOVE THAT MOVIE SO MUCH. The first time I watched it I thought it was kind of boring, but I adore it now. So perfect in every way! I started watching Princess and the Frog, but the villain was too ‘magic-y’ for my taste so I didn’t finish it.

      The movies, definitely. The 1994 movie (of Little Women) is one of my favorite films of all time – what don’t you like about it?

      Like

  2. *hyperventilates and screams*

    YOU SAW ROGUE ONE?!?!?

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    (my favorite Star Wars movie. Also one of my favorite movies, period.)

    Like

  3. Ohh, so many good movies!!
    Baby Christian Bale (even adult Christian Bale, :P) is totally enough to make me want to watch any of his movies. But Newsies is one of the BEST. MUSICALS. EVER. (Have you seen “Empire of the Sun”? That has an even YOUNGER Christian Bale in it. It’s about WW2. It’s quite sad, obviously, but I thought it was excellent all the same. He plays the main role.)

    We have the Patriot, and I’ve meaning to watch that for ages… you don’t like Mel Gibson? 😛 Well, I’ve not seen him in many movies – mostly just Maverick, and I think that’s rather funny. Mostly just him and the combination of James Garner and Jodie Foster though, haha.

    OH MY GOODNESS YES ROGUE ONE SMASHES YOUR HEART.

    Master and Commander is an EXCELLENT movie. 🙂 (Who’s your favourite character? I like the doctor. XD)

    A Royal Night Out was a let down for me. :/

    Oh, I’ve heard about the Inheritance but I haven’t seen or read it! But I LOVE Little Women and Louisa May Alcott’s writing and stories. Maybe I should give it a try.

    I really want to watch Moana. xD

    Movies I’ve seen lately:
    Inception – I LOVE this movie SO much. It still leaves questions in my brain, during the 6 or 7th viewing. Last time I was trying to figure exactly whose dreams they were in, which kick was for which level and all the other details that you realize are there, after you get your head around the whole thing, haha. Have you seen it??

    Suits – I’ve just started watching the beginning of the TV series. I don’t know why, but I always rather enjoy watching lawyer type movies. (Maybe that started with “To Kill a Mockingbird”.)

    White House Down – SO. INTENSE. Oh my gosh…

    Newsies: the Musical – I basically squealed through the entire movie. ❤ ❤

    Brooklyn – I basically cried through the entire movie. ❤ ❤

    Like

    • Christian Bale is always a good idea. I’ve basically watched him grow up, first with Newsies, then Little Women, then Batman Begins/The Dark Knight Rises. I haven’t watched Empire of the Sun yet, but I’ve heard of it and I do want to watch it (obviously ;)).

      My favorite character in Rogue One was probably the doctor, too. I have a thing for doctors. 🙂 (And Paul Bettany, at least a bit.)

      I want to see Inception! Especially since Chris Nolan is my favorite modern director. 🙂

      Like

    • Yes, I did! Mom was hesitant about us watching it at first because of the violence, but she eventually agreed. (I didn’t pester her incessantly! I promise!)

      Oooooh YES. You must let me know your thoughts on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

