life actually

For those of you who don’t know, my dad passed away to heaven on September 26th.  Life has been (obviously) difficult in many ways since then, but there have been blessings as well.  The outpouring of love, encouragement, help, and prayers from so many people has been amazing to see.  The funeral was on October 3rd, and while there were plenty of tears shed, there was also a quiet peace and comfort throughout the ceremony.  Dad was an amazing father, the best I could ever have had, but he’s free from cancer now in heaven and we “sorrow not, even as others which have no hope”. (I Thessalonians 4:13)

For the past few days, our house has been full of people – my aunt and uncle and their family + my family + a family that aren’t our blood relations, but feel as close as that all the same.  It’s been crazy and noisy and amazing, but it hasn’t all been fun and games.  Yesterday, we packed up a bunch of our things because in about a month, my family will be moving to Alberta, Edmonton. (Yes, that’s still in Canada, for those of you who were wondering.)  We’re getting close to the nitty-gritty of packing, where its just a bunch of little things that you just want to trash but you have to pack instead.  And I twisted my foot coming down the stairs this morning, so that’s going to be…interesting.

Before my family moves to Edmonton, however, we’re going to be taking a month-long trip around America, visiting family and friends wherever they may be.  I’ll finally get to cross an item off my bucket list: meet an Internet friend.  I’ll actually be meeting two: Ashley and Rachel.  So I’m pretty excited about that.

Anyway, that means I’m probably not going to be blogging until I get settled into my Edmonton home, which will be sometime around the middle of November.  I still want to participate in NaNoWriMo, mostly because this year’s theme is superheroes, and I have an idea for a WWII retelling of Cinderella brewing in my brain.  We’ll see.

Annnnd that’s about all I have to say right now.

Have a great day, y’all!

Eva

39 thoughts on “life actually

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry, Eva. 😦 I will be praying for you!

    I’m so glad you’ve been able to find encouragement amidst all this. I have some close friends who lost their mum to cancer a few years ago, and though I understand there would be such an aching pain from it, they are some of the happiest people I know. Sometimes God can use tragedies and turn them into beautiful things.

    That’s so exciting, being able to meet some blogging friends. So happy for you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh my, darling, I had no idea at all. I am so sorry. This must be so hard for you and your family. You are in my prayers always, and your family. You will see your father again one day, when Jesus comes back… Never forget the promise and hope of the resurrection. Love you, girl. ❤

    Like

  3. Oh, I’m truely so sorry. It is always hard to lose someone. It was the anniversary of my grandpa’s death on Oct. 3rd, I had never met him but when you think about death there is a sort of peace involed. I’ll be praying for you, and safe travels!
    God bless you.

    Like

  4. I am so sorry your family’s had to go through all this. I love you and I will keep praying for you. ❤

    I hope your move to Edmonton goes well! Moving can be pretty stressful, I know. But how wonderful that you'll get to visit Ashley and Rachel!!! Please give them both an extra hug for me 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m so so sorry to hear about your dad. But I hope your move goes well and that you’ll have peace during this time! I’ll be praying for you.

    Like

  6. Sorry to hear that. At least for me, when my grandmother passed away after years of deteriorating health (life-long arthritis that got really bad in her 70’s, suffering a stroke that impeded her mental functioning), it was almost more of a relief than it was sad. But that doesn’t mean I don’t miss her, or her tea biscuits (the best I’ve ever had). I hope you can get through this.

    Also, good luck with the move.

    Like

  7. Eva, I have been praying for your dad and your family ever since I read on your blog that he had cancer and am so very sorry to hear this news. I will continue to pray for strength and comfort for your family. ❤

    I'm happy you're getting to visit Ashley and Rachel. 😀 I hope you have a simply wonderful time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

