the finally fall book tag

Stolen Borrowed from Hamlette at The Edge of the Precipice. 🙂

1. In fall, the air is crisp and clear: name a book with a vivid setting.

Nick of Time by Ted Bell.  It’s been over four years since I last read it, but I still remember the cramped submarine, the English beach, the dim tavern.  Vivid, indeed.

2. Nature is beautiful… but also dying: name a book that is beautifully written, but also deals with a heavy topic like loss or grief.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, hands down.  Not all people would consider it beautifully written, just weirdly written, but it is gorgeous.  Unexpected and unique and gorgeous.  It deals with death and WWII and the Holocaust and definitely grief as well.  But in between the tears, there are flickers of hope.

3. Fall is back to school season: share a non-fiction book that taught you something new.

Mrs. Kennedy and Me by Clint Hill opened my eyes to the fabulous, tumultuous lives of the Kennedy family and also sparked my interest in them, an interest that continues to this day.

4. In order to keep warm, it’s good to spend some time with the people we love: name a fictional family/household/friend-group that you’d like to be a part of.

I am going to copy Hamlette and say the Curtis brothers + their friends from S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders.  Though I would never write a self-insert fanfiction with myself as the Curtis’ sister, I would love to be part of their family.  My activities would mostly involve eating wayyyy too much chocolate cake and hugging Johnny a lot.

5. The colorful leaves are piling up on the ground: show us a pile of fall-colored spines!

Alas, all my books are packed up in preparation for our move to Edmonton.  I would love to do this, though. 😦  Maybe once we’ve moved, I’ll take a picture and come back to this post to add it.  In fact, I will do that.  Promise.

6. Fall is the perfect time for some storytelling by the fireside: share a book wherein somebody is telling a story.

Dear Enemy by Jack Cavanaugh.  A superb WWII novel in which a bride tells her bridesmaid (or is it her maid of honour?) all about her adventures and trials in the Ardennes Forest during the Battle of the Bulge.

7. The nights are getting darker: share a dark, creepy read.

I don’t read creepy books.  Macbeth was quite dark, though, and The Maze Runner by James Dashner did scare me a little.

8. The days are getting colder: name a short, heartwarming read that could warm up somebody’s cold and rainy day.

The Catch Colt by Mary O’Hara or The Candymakers by Wendy Mass.  The first is a short, darling, happy western.  The second is a middle-grade novel that will make you crave chocolate pizza.  And I just found out there’s a sequel, which makes me so happy.

9. Fall returns every year: name an old favorite that you’d like to return to soon.

Emma by Jane Austen.  It’s been a while.  And The Outsiders.

10. Fall is the perfect time for cozy reading nights: share your favorite cozy reading “accessories”!

Eh.  I read whenever, wherever, dressed in whatever.  I do have a ginormous red hoodie, inherited from my dad, that I love to curl up in. ❤

If the last book you read had an awesome character in it, you are hereby tagged!

Eva

9 thoughts on “the finally fall book tag

  1. I always hate packing my books and movies when I move. On the one hand, it’s like, yeah, these are things I don’t neeeeeeed out and should be the first to get packed. On the other hands, as soon as they’re packed, I want to read and watch all sorts of stuff I can’t get at anymore. My brother and I both inherited a love of owning books from our dad, and we both have said that until we start packing the books, we feel panicky about moving, like we will never be ready, but as soon as we start packing them, we freak out because now they’re in boxes and we don’t know right where to find them at any given moment.

    Anyway, fun answers! I like all the pics 🙂

    Like

  2. Here I am again! I can do the tag now! 🙂

    1. Name a book with a vivid setting: “Death Comes for the Archbishop,” by Willa Cather. It’s set in the Southwestern desert, and she does a brilliant job of making you see the yellow sand and the clear blue sky and the ruby-colored hills . . . just gorgeous. I love that book.
    2. Name a book that is beautifully written, but also deals with a heavy topic, like loss or grief: “All the Light We Cannot See,” by Anthony Doerr; which, if you’ve never read it, is about the Hitler Youth in WW2. I have seldom read a book with more poetic prose; and I have seldom read a book whose ending DESTROYED ME in quite that same way. It’s horrible. It’s also beautiful.
    3. Share a non-fiction book that taught you something new: “The Origins of the Urban Crisis,” by Thomas J. Sugrue, pretty completely altered my understanding of poverty and racism in the United States.
    4. Name a fictional family/household/friend-group that you’d like to be a part of: That one’s hard to answer; I almost never imagine myself IN stories, interacting with the characters?? But I suppose . . . I would like to be one of the Pevensie children in the Chronicles of Narnia. I would love to laugh along with Lucy, and argue with Edmund (I have a feeling we would argue a lot 😉 ), and I have a strong need to hug Susan and assure her that I haven’t forgotten her, even if C.S. Lewis was a jerk. *grinds teeth slightly*
    5. Show us a pile of fall-colored spines: Ummmmmmmm . . . next question? 😉
    6. Share a book wherein somebody is telling a story: “Fangirl,” by Rainbow Rowell. Because Cath is working to complete this massive fanfiction, throughout the story; that’s part of what drives the plot forward, her trying to finish it. And we get bits and pieces of what she writes sprinkled throughout, so we get to read it, too.
    7. Share a dark, creepy read: “The Hound of the Baskervilles,” by Arthur Conan Doyle. ‘Nuff said.
    8. Name a short, heartwarming read that could warm up somebody’s cold and rainy day: “The Ordinary Princess,” by M.M. Kaye. ADORABLENESS. I do love that book. Plus it’s hilarious and the illustrations are cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute.
    9. Name an old favorite that you’d like to return to soon: “Bert Breen’s Barn,” by Walter D. Edmonds. I don’t know why I have an urge to re-read that book, but I do.
    10. Share your favorite cozy reading “accessories”: My University of Memphis hooded sweatshirt. It’s warm and fuzzy and awesome.

    Thanks for the tag, Eva! ❤

    Like

  3. Very nice. I followed you here from The Edge of the Precipice, and of course Hamlette got it from me, and I got it from elsewhere…thanks for playing. Happy Fall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

